top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikki Kins

Simple Homemade Bread And... Yeast?



You might remember the panicked rush for essential items when this plague started to really take hold around the world. In fact, there are still limits on how many of a particular item you can purchase. Everything from sanitizing wipes to bottled water, and even my favorite woven whole wheat crackers were hard to come by, if not impossible. And now spare change, too? Seriously, is anyone taking notes on 2020? How are we even going to remember all the “weird” that has happened this year? But the one item I was most upset about not being able to find, for what seemed like at least a month, was bread or “baker’s” yeast. Apparently, this was “a thing” with millennials according to my niece. She said they were baking bread and then posting it to their social media. Once again, what a strange world we live in.

I was able to get my hands on some brewer’s yeast and heard it can be used as a substitute as long as it is active. However, I could just never get my bread to turn out the way it normally would. It was either too mealy, too tough, or too dry. Every time I tried to alter it, there would be a new problem. So, I decided that I was going to give up on the brewing option and figure out how to make my own yeast. After all, yeast has been used in bread making for thousands of years and I’m fairly certain there were no grocery stores way back when.

So after a little overwhelming Internet searching, with so much conflicting content, I realized I was going about this all wrong. If I’m trying to go back in time with my food prep, why wouldn’t I do the same with the wisdom I seek? I immediately shutdown my computer and picked up my phone and began calling all my friends and family members who were gifted in the culinary realm and see if any of them knew much about yeast starters.

I was shocked how many did, leaving me with the same dilemma I had before: way too many options and conflicting opinions. So, as any excessively persistent food-loving individual stuck at home due to a pandemic would do, I began to create somewhat of a test kitchen. As a result, this problem ended up turning into one of the most exciting food ventures I have ever experienced. (I know, I know... I am sad like that.)

I had experiment stations on my counter tops and in my cabinets, refrigerator and freezer. I even broke out the old label-making gun. In other words, I was no longer looking for a quick solution, but the perfect solution for the next time a pandemic turns my life upside down. This was going to be fun!

I tried everything from the brewer’s yeast I already had, to leftover water used to boil potatoes. And the verdict? Still nothing compared to the store-bought stuff. But it sure was a lot of fun!

I know I cannot leave you hanging, though. I must give you something, right? I will leave you with the best and easiest bread yeast solution I’ve discovered as well as the simplest and so extremely delicious bread recipe you will ever need. Not only is it versatile to use in different baking methods, but it can also be used to make a delicious, doughnut-like sweet dough with just a little more added sugar. I’ll explain how to make the sweet dough in a later post.

Enjoy!

Yeast Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of water leftover from boiled potatoes

  • 1 teaspoon sugar

  • ¾ cup of flour (more or less depending on consistency)

Directions:

Now, I know this isn’t a true yeast, but this ended up being the best option. Just give it a try. Trust me!

  1. In a small bowl, add the water and sugar and stir until dissolved.

  2. Slowly add the flower while stirring and continue to add until you get a nice, stiff consistency. If it doesn’t firm up enough, just add a little more.

  3. Cover and leave overnight in a warm place. It should be bubbling the next morning. If it is not... sorry. Start over. If it is, then use it as you would a biga.

  4. (optional) I was so excited when I discovered you can dry it too. Spread it out on a baking sheet and bake at your oven’s lowest temperature until dried out. Remember, you’re not cooking the yeast... you’re just trying to dry it out. If you cook it, you will kill. Then crumble and store in an airtight jar or glass bowl. Just like regular yeast, it lasts longer in your refrigerator or freezer.

Bread Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups flour

  • 4 cups warm (not hot) water

  • 4 tablespoons oil

  • ¼ tablespoon sugar

  • 2½ teaspoons salt

  • 2½ tablespoons yeast

Directions:

  1. Warm one cup of water and stir in the yeast until combined. This will get the yeast to do its thing a little faster. Do not use hot water as it will kill the yeast.

  2. In a standing mixer with a dough hook, add the oil to the bowl and wipe it to the sides and to the dough hook itself. This is an insider trick from my grandmother and is absolutely brilliant. (If you do not have a standing mixer, do the way your grandmother did and then feel free to skip the gym)

  3. Add most of the flour, saving some for adjustments during mixing.

  4. Add the sugar and give it a quick stir with the mixer or even just a spoon.

  5. Turn the mixer on its slowest setting and add the yeast mixture while on. Keep on and slowly continue to add water until the dough has some springiness and is just slightly sticky.

  6. Alternate back and forth between remaining flour and water until the desired consistency is reached, while trying not to over mix the dough, which will make it too tough.

  7. Remove from mixer and place into a large, greased bowl and gently knead it into the bottom so that it is level.

  8. Cover with a damp cheese cloth and place in a warm area and let sit for one hour.

  9. Once dough is smooth, airy, and springy, use a dough knife to separate it into desired amount of loaves or rolls, place on a flowered surface and cover again with a damp cheesecloth. I find it usually makes about 3-4 loaves or 20-25 rolls. Let rest for one more hour.

  10. Preheat your oven to 425°.

  11. Place dough into bread pans or onto a baking sheet and brush top with oil.

  12. Bake for 20 minutes or until the bread has risen and is golden brown.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page