top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikki Kins

Pulled Pork Sandwiches



I am on an endless mission to find easy recipes for my family. It is rare to find one that pleases them all, but when I do, I feel as though I am then responsible to share it with you.


This one was by no means innovative as I simply relied on a long history of trial and error. For example, I used to make shredded chicken on the stove top. But then I discovered the ease of using the a crock pot.


The other day, as I was making shredded chicken tacos for the millionth time, I wondered, why not try pulled pork using this method. Usually, I lean on my husband for this as he has quickly become a smoker guru, but he hasn't released the magical machine from its winter hibernation yet, and heck... I wanted some pulled pork. And boy am I glad I gave it a shot!


Of course, it is nowhere near as good as when its done correctly: using a smoker. But I have to admit, they ain't half bad ;)


Judge for yourself:


Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons light brown sugar

  • 2 teaspoons smoked paprika

  • 2 teaspoons mustard powder

  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin

  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

  • 4-pound bone-in pork shoulder, trimmed of extra fat (bone-in pork shoulder steaks work great too)

  • 2 teaspoons vegetable oil

  • ¾ cup apple cider vinegar

  • 4 tablespoons tomato paste

  • 8 bakery-fresh buns (Tip: get them from your butcher)

  • Carolina or Georgia Barbecue sauce, sliced dill pickles, and your favorite slaw, for serving

Directions:


  1. Mix 1 tablespoon brown sugar, paprika, mustard powder, cumin, 3 teaspoons salt and ½ teaspoon pepper in a small bowl and whisk until combined. Rub the spice mixture all over the pork.

  2. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat and then add the pork, gently turning until browned on all sides, 3 minutes. Remove the pork and transfer to a plate; stir ¾ cup water into the drippings in the skillet. Transfer the liquid to your crock pot.

  3. Add the vinegar, tomato paste, the remaining brown sugar and 2 cups water to the crock pot and whisk. Add the pork, cover and cook on low, 7-8 hours, depending on your crock pot.

  4. Remove the pork and transfer to a large bowl or dish. Strain two cups of the liquid into a saucepan, bring to a boil and cook until reduced by at least half, about 15 minutes. Season with salt. Roughly chop or tear the pork, removing any excess fat and mix in a bowl with 1 cup of the reduced liquid, and salt and to taste. Serve on buns with barbecue sauce, pickles and slaw... and maybe a side of baked beans and cornbread if you really want to go all-southern ;)

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page