top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikki Kins

Green Chili Steak and Cilantro-Lime Rice Bowl



I recently decided I was going to try to duplicate a recipe I had at a local restaurant that just opened, which has quickly become one of my favorite establishments. This dish was actually served as a side dish to my swordfish but easily stole the show. The problem is, all these lockdowns that keep forcing my restaurants to close for in-person dining, So I was forced to give this one a shot. I still try to support my local eateries as much as possible, but if I’m craving this dish in particular, there just isn’t any real substitutes.


I love it. I’ve served it to guests, and they loved it. And shockingly, even my kids love it. Though I have to tame the spice down a bit for them and I always end up eating Maria’s peppers. But as any mom will attest... that’s still a win.


INGREDIENTS

3 lbs Teres Major Steak (Flat or Loin cuts also work)

3 red bell peppers, diced (I like to grab three different colors)

1 cup red onion, chopped

3 medium poblano peppers (roasted according to directions and diced)

5 green tomatillos (If your grocery store doesn’t have these, find a different grocery store)

6 teaspoons ground cumin

2 teaspoons ancho chili powder

1 teaspoon smoked paprika (or hot Hungarian paprika for a little extra kick)

2 teaspoons dried oregano

2 cups uncooked instant brown rice or regular brown rice (factor in extra time for cooking if using regular)

2 tablespoons chopped cilantro, rinsed and chopped (not dried)

1 teaspoon Kosher or sea salt to taste

Ground black pepper to taste

½ cup water

1 bunch fresh cilantro, rinsed and chopped (not dried)

3 limes, juiced (You can use lime juice concentrate, but it’s not nearly as tasty... trust me)

Optional sides: Grilled tortillas, Pinto Bean Mash

CILANTRO RICE

1. Cook the rice according to package instructions.

2. Add a third of the lime juice, 2 teaspoons of the ground cumin, 1 teaspoon of kosher or sea salt, and ground black pepper to taste.


ROASTED POBLANOS

1. Set the oven to Broil, coat in olive oil and place on a baking sheet.

2. Bake for about 7 mins on each side or until starting to char.

3. When charred, place in a bowl and cover immediately with plastic wrap and allow to steam to easily remove the skin. Once cooled, remove skin, seeds and stems, chop and set aside.

4. Alternative: Roast on the grill.


GREEN CHILI STEAK

1. Heat a skillet to medium-high heat, greased with canola oil (Works best on cast iron)

2. Slice steak into 1-2 inch strips and heat in a pan until cooked to your preference

3. While cooking, start on the rice… allow for additional time if not using instant rice.

4. Add bell peppers, red onion, roasted poblano, green tomatillo, remaining cumin, paprika, oregano, salt, black pepper, water, and cayenne. Add half of the cilantro and the remainder of lime juice.


Serve the steak and pepper mix over the rice and enjoy the heck out of it!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page