top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikki Kins

Cucumber Salad (Summer Ain’t Over Yet)



The past few years, I’ve noticed my age a little bit more. And not because I feel old, but because I keep hearing the things my parents used to say. I’m sure part of that is because I am the one uttering the phrases. “We’re not heating the neighborhood.” “Use your head.” “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade” “You’ll shoot your eye out.” “Home, James.” You know... the usual. Another symptom of my newfound age-awareness is my appreciation for summer growing as my love for winter wanes. Is that not the exact reason why retirees migrate south every year? (Well... at least from where I live.)

This realization came tonight. The kids were all at the brother’s house for a sleepover with their cousins and my husband and I had our first quiet dinner since... well... since I can remember. And, boy oh boy, are dinners easy when it’s just the two of us. My husband grilled up some pork chops for himself and I made one of my all-time favorite salads. It screams summer, is delicious, and is so stinkin’ easy. But as I was enjoying it came the realization that I would have to switch over to soup mode soon.

I love soup. Don’t get me wrong. It’s like it is its own food group at the Kins’ residence. But there’s nothing in the world like walking out to the garden, grabbing a few things, and having my meal ready in less than ten minutes. You can’t beat the freshness nor the convenience, no matter how small. So, yes I’m growing less fond of winter because of the frigid cold, but equally sad is the loss of my fresh produce stand in my own backyard.

Okay. My loquacious lament can come to an end now so that I can get you to this amazingly simple salad that will help you soak up the remaining days of what civil weather we have left. Hopefully, your garden comes equipped with cucumbers, green onions, mint, and garlic. If you have your own dairy farm, then maybe some Greek yogurt too. That’s it! That’s all you need to enjoy what little warm weather we have left.

Cucumber Salad

Ingredients

1 – 32 oz container Greek yogurt

3 small cucumbers (small cucumbers are always better), diced

2-3 garlic cloves, mashed

1 scallion, sliced extra thin on the bias

½ cup fresh mint leaves, finely chopped

½ teaspoon salt

Pepper to taste

Directions

Mix all ingredients together. That’s it! Enjoy!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page