top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikki Kins

Broccoli So Good, It Could Be An Appetizer

I am aware that I have, most likely, lost many of you with the first word in my title. Chances are either you, or someone you know, doesn’t like broccoli. I’m not going to pretend there was never in a time in my life where I detested the stuff myself. And getting my husband or kids to partake in any veggie consumption always seems to be an insurmountable exploit. But with a little experimentation with last week’s harvest, I think I may have discovered the secret weapon to take on anyone that holds these nutrient behemoths in contempt. And the best part? It was an accidental innovation.


I was planning to throw the florets from these two super foods on the grill when it started to rain. Knowing that anything that can be grilled should be grilled, I succumbed to a minor bout of gloom when I realized that I would need to move the meal into the kitchen. So... salt alone wasn’t going to cut it. I began sorting through my spices, looking for a way to... well... spice it up a bit. I grabbed what I thought was regular paprika and onion powder, sliced up a few cloves of garlic, tossed all of it in a bowl with some olive oil, salt and pepper. That was going to be it. Boring right?


As I continued to toss the ingredients, I noticed that I had something with a little bit of a kick in this bowl. I first thought that it was the garlic, but upon further investigation, it was a brand new bulb and mild as can be. I knew it wasn’t the pepper and was left momentarily perplexed. Then, I took the dreaded second glance at my spices hoping I didn’t accidentally throw in some cayenne pepper. Nope. And had that been the case, given the amount I would’ve put in, the harvest would be lost for sure.


It turns out it was paprika, but a different not your grandma’s paprika. It is Hot Hungarian Paprika and is my absolute favorite spice as many of you know by now. I sampled a cauliflower piece and it was not bad. And for whatever reason, turmeric popped into my head as a compliment. If we didn’t have an overabundance of broccoli and cauliflower already looking to replace this week’s yield, I wouldn’t have risked it. But after 12 seconds of deliberation, I rolled with it. And am I ever happy that I did.


It ended up having the most unique flavor with almost a deep-fried likeness. It somehow stole the show from the pan fish my husband fried up, which are always a hit with the kids. Sure, they all devoured his catch, but my invention ended up being a catch of its own. And for once, Mom came through big!


Tonight, we’re trying it with carrots!



Ridiculously Good Broccoli and Cauliflower Bites


Ingredients

  • 1 Head of Broccoli

  • 1 Head of Cauliflower

  • ¼ Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

  • 1 tsp Hot Hungarian Paprika

  • 2 tsps Turmeric

  • 3 Cloves Garlic, Thinly Sliced

  • Salt and Pepper to Taste


Recipe

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.

  2. Break down the broccoli and cauliflower into smaller florets and remove the stems. Some people like to process them down using a knife, but I recommend breaking them apart by hand as it maintains the rustic look and seems more appetizing to me.

  3. In a large bowl, gently whisk together the oil, paprika, turmeric, garlic, salt and pepper.

  4. Add the florets to the bowl and toss together

  5. Spread out on a cookie sheet or jelly roll pan and bake for 20-25 minutes, depending on how charred you like them. (Tip: Anytime a recipe calls for baking something, I will try to do so on parchment paper. It makes cleanup so much easier!)

  6. Serve as an appetizer or a side. Or both :)

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page