top of page
  • Writer's pictureNikki Kins

Livelihoods and Lifelong Dreams

Updated: Mar 24, 2022



As I begin to see more restaurants close their doors permanently, my initial reaction is always to determine whether or not I liked the place. Only recently have I made a concerted effort to change this initial reaction from how it affects “me” to “them.” I always eventually got there, but not at first... and that’s what scares me. What’s happened to us that we no longer see the people behind the storefront or in the office next to the kitchen. I hate that my first thought was always about how it will affect me.


This realization that my priority of concern was out of line first came when I was wasting time down a Google rabbit hole. Something reminded me of one of the churches I visited when I was studying abroad more than 20 years ago in a small town outside of Florence. And as would happen to anyone, my search quickly led to searching each and every one of my favorite spots when I was over there. It was the moment I searched one my favorite cafes that I came to this awakening. In the business Google description for this particular stop, it said words that shook me into the realization of my indifference: Permanently Closed.

How could this happen? This place was so busy. I would intentionally plan my day around normal peak hours just so I didn’t have wait in line too long. How could a place like this succumb to the pandemic. Surely, even they would have maintained enough business to keep their doors open. This was the moment that woke me up. Because I actually knew the owner due to the frequency of my patronage. Simone was one of the kindest people you’d ever meet. And just like that, his dream is gone.


I’m not for subsidizing every failing business here in the States to keep them afloat. If anything, I take a more “rugged individualism” approach to our economic affairs, no matter how local. But that, by no means, should mean that I shouldn’t care about the people seeing their dreams crash down. That I shouldn’t immediately redirect my thoughts to say a quick prayer for them or to add them to my daily prayers altogether. They’re people. They have families. They had a dream that most likely included them handing down their creation to their children and grandchildren.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page